Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Some help with this 1962-P Proof WQ 25c Reverse, please?

AzurescensAzurescens Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'm not very good with proofs. They are my next "semester" of coin study. So I was going through my proof sets and found this with a nice blue Franklin, bronzed nickel, and bronze-blue dime, gorgeous red cent and this @ricko approved Washington quarter.

I used the green to illustrate the mechanical doubling. Yellow areas and all the lines are raised up off the coin or seem to have some sort of engraving. Tail feathers are all goofy too. The only major PUP is the beginnings of a die crack at the base of the bust, right on the edge and faint enough to hardly see, it's thinner than hair. Designer initials are fine.

Thanks in advance I'd appreciate any knowledge or help on these odd marks on the letters, wings, etc. The obverse is a very nice strike and I don't see anything similar.

Sorry for all the pictures but they are small file size.

Comments

• Options
    edited May 25, 2018 5:33AM

Oops here are the rest of the pictures. I think I included enough in the crops to differentiate which image goes where on the coin.

Thanks again for looking! =) I'd love to know what these are and why they're there or if they're a flaw or engraved or DDR, I dunno.

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

Most of what I see highlighted is mechanical doubling... I am unable to see the faint die crack. There is a lot of light glare in the pictures - which are otherwise quite nice. Cheers, RickO

• Options

I made a second post with shots of the lines @ricko. Sometimes images will mess up if I put too many in. What are all the scraggly lines over what appear to be old worn out straight lines? Or am I viewing this wrong?

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

Some of those lines do look 're-engraved'....certainly a different appearance.... I think i will wait for @FredWeinberg to comment on this one.... Cheers, RickO

• Options