Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Naturally toned 19th century gold - appearance of lighter hue higher grade original AU coins

I am studying examples of naturally toned circulated gold coins from say the 1840's versus those that may have been cleaned or dipped. I am curious about thoughts on examples of coins with lighter hues and in higher circulated grades that may or may not be original. Does anyone have thoughts or photo examples? For example are there lightly circulated examples that are original but do not have a heavy toned look? How can you tell for certain? Or is it safe to assume that any original AU circulated old gold coin from the 1800's that does not have any dirt chunks in recesses basically guarantee it was dipped at one time? Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    coinkatcoinkat Posts: 22,891 ✭✭✭✭✭

Consider exploring the Heritage archives. Look for some of the threats started by a handful of members here such as RYK, Boosbri among others. Do search for dirty gold under the search forum and that should help. There have been some outstanding imagesposted here over the years

Experience the World through Numismatics...it's more than you can imagine.

• Options
    BryceMBryceM Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭✭

Your question is probably more complicated than you realize. Some perfectly natural very old gold has no toning. Some previously cleaned coins have reaccumulated enough new toning that they might look “old.”

There is no “one look” that is appropriate. Really original, dirty, grimy, stuff is in favor (with many folks here at least) because truely original skin is forever lost with a cleaning or a dip. Some very carefully stored old gold might still look brand spanking new. The ultimate in originality is a coin that looks exactly as it did when minted. I look for a surface that is plausibly appropriate considering the piece’s wear, age, typical characteristics, and known history. For example, 23-D Saints have a “typical” look, etc., etc.