Home U.S. Coin Forum

How can you capture the color of a coin with a photo?

I've been trying all day to get my camera to take the perfect picture of some of my coins but every guide I look up doesn't seem to help me capture the color and vibrancy of some of my coins. I'm just getting into coin collecting and wanted to sell a few so I can expand my collection but I can't seem to take the right pictures. I feel like throwing my camera in the lake. Below is my current photo set up along with a few pictures I took of one of my better colored coins. But none of the pictures capture the true color of the coins. Any advice?

Comments

• jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 31,611 ✭✭✭✭✭

One thing to try is to change the color of the background. Makes a difference in how the camera sets color levels.

• air4mdcair4mdc Posts: 796 ✭✭✭✭

Could it be your lighting setup......shouldn’t it be more overhead and direct using LED or halogens with diffuser socks? Your second picture is nicely done but it appears that only a portion of the coin received direct lighting.

• BryceMBryceM Posts: 11,721 ✭✭✭✭✭

Light and the position of the light is key. White balance is important and some CAREFUL post-photography image editing to adjust contrast, hue, & saturation is sometimes needed. Some coins are difficult and copper is always a challenge for me.

Check out Mark Goodman’s book, Numismatic Photography and see how he positions lighting for various types of coins.

• jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 31,611 ✭✭✭✭✭

@air4mdc said:
    Could it be your lighting setup......shouldn’t it be more overhead and direct using LED or halogens with diffuser socks? Your second picture is nicely done but it appears that only a portion of the coin received direct lighting.

In general, no. The indirect lighting through the diffuser is the way to go.

The OP might try a light box as opposed to the single source illumination.

• spacehaydukespacehayduke Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 12, 2017 9:31AM

@jmlanzaf said: