Home U.S. Coin Forum

Is there any WAMPUM in collections?

topstuftopstuf Posts: 14,803 ✭✭✭✭✭

I don't think I've ever seen actual wampum in coin offerings.

?????

It was "money" in the US for a long time.

Comments

• Insider2Insider2 Posts: 14,452 ✭✭✭✭✭

I've only seen it in museums. I would not touch the stuff at a coin show. Perhaps a TPGS will authenticate the stuff one day.

• JBKJBK Posts: 14,717 ✭✭✭✭✭

I am no expert but I am not sure there is any way to tell that it is old/genuine. I think that (at least some of) it is just polished shells. If a piece has a verifiable provenance or came from a documented excavation then maybe it could be authenticated.

• shorecollshorecoll Posts: 5,445 ✭✭✭✭✭

There was actually lots of wampum in auctions about 100 years ago. Many of the old-time collections had some, I don't know when that dropped off. I also don't know if there are any ownership restrictions like are moving in on many antiquities.

ANA-LM, NBS, EAC
  • BarndogBarndog Posts: 20,457 ✭✭✭✭✭

I am pretty sure JK had some in his case at an ANA a few years back.

• BochimanBochiman Posts: 25,290 ✭✭✭✭✭

I think a member here, local to me, had some he showed me a few years ago at a local show. Think he bought from JK.

I've been told I tolerate fools poorly...that may explain things if I have a problem with you. Current ebay items - Nothing at the moment

• hchcoinhchcoin Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭✭✭

Very cool thread.

edited October 24, 2017 5:37PM

@hchcoin said: "Very cool thread."

Ugh. :)

I was given a book - "An Ethnographic Study of Traditional Money" by Charles Opitz and a pamphlet - "Traditional Money on Yap and Palau" by the same author. Folks interested in this sort of thing may try the ANA Library. "Odd and Curious Money" is another title you can look for.

• OnastoneOnastone Posts: 3,777 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 24, 2017 5:59PM