Home U.S. Coin Forum

How to tell difference between old Proof and MS Prooflike Gold

hiijackerhiijacker Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭

For example I was looking at this coin. What would be the area to look at to tell the difference between this and the proof version of the same coin?

https://coins.ha.com/itm/liberty-eagles/1893-10-ms62-prooflike-ngc/a/1201-6927.s#

Buyer of all vintage Silver Bars. PM me
Cashback from Mr. Rebates

Comments

• RogerBRogerB Posts: 8,852 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited August 9, 2017 8:17AM

Edge, rim and other areas should be examined in person.

In making proofs, at least 1/3 were rejected due to defects. These were put into circulation,
    Some proofs were spent.
    Some circulation dies were polished to remove clashing, cracks and other defects.

Based only on the photos, this might be a failed proof; polish seems too good and uniform for a PL, especially in the shield and inscriptions.

What did it sell for?

• AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,515 ✭✭✭✭✭

First off, I'm no expert on proof gold, but strike has to be a major factor. It can be prooflike from new(er) dies but not struck like a proof. That's what I'd look for first. Then there might be diagnostics for the $10 1893 proof that are only on a proof. Searching will give you that information if it's available. Google is your friend.
    On your NGC example the two stars on each side of the date do not appear to be fully struck.....=business strike.
    PCGS coinfacts has an 1893 $10 in Deep Cameo with pictures to compare...take a look.
    http://www.pcgscoinfacts.com/Coin/Detail/98833

bob:)

Registry: CC lowballs (boblindstrom), bobinvegas1989@yahoo.com
  • gripgrip Posts: 9,962 ✭✭✭✭✭

2 K.

• KoveKove Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭✭

Several of the proof diagnostics are near the edge of the coin, such as the reeding, any wire rim, and the denticles. The reeding should visibly be very squared-off, and the denticles will often be fully struck up.