Home U.S. Coin Forum

My first coin purchase in over 25 years. Updated with a new purchase. (7-15-2017)

divecchiadivecchia Posts: 6,611 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited July 15, 2017 11:31AM in U.S. Coin Forum

Hi All,

My name is Donato DiVecchia. I've been collecting Nolan Ryan cards for almost 25 years, PSA graded for the last 10. Some of you may know me from the PSA card side, as I have a Nolan Ryan Master set that I am currently working on that is currently 3rd on the PSA Registry. I collected coins for about 5 or 6 years in the late 1980's to the early 1990's. I was introduced to PCGS graded coins when they were in their infancy. I never lost interest in coins, but life sort of got in the way. I recently decided it was time to start coin collecting again and try to focus my collection on picking up a few key coins from each denomination. I decided to start things out with a bang, so here is my first pickup from just a few hours ago at a local coin show.

Let me know what you guys think, but please be gentle on a newbie when it comes to coin collecting.

Thanks for looking,

Donato

Hobbyist & Collector (not an investor).
Donato's Complete US Type Set ---- Donato's Dansco 7070 Modified Type Set ---- Donato's Basic U.S. Coin Design Set

Successful transactions: Shrub68 (Jim), MWallace (Mike)

Comments

• GazesGazes Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭✭✭

I like it ! Collecting key dates a great way to go Welcome aboard !

• Wabbit2313Wabbit2313 Posts: 7,268 ✭✭✭✭✭

Cool. What is the grade? Also, will we see you sooner than 25 years from now? :)

• divecchiadivecchia Posts: 6,611 ✭✭✭✭✭

Gazes, thanks for the welcome!

Wabbit2313, it is an MS64RB. I hope to stay with it this time.

Donato

Donato's Complete US Type Set ---- Donato's Dansco 7070 Modified Type Set ---- Donato's Basic U.S. Coin Design Set

• CoinlearnerCoinlearner Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭✭

Great way to start. Nice high grade in the "right" plastic. What's next,3 legged buffalo,16-D dime,16 Quarter etc?... :)