Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Possible 1943 copper penny

Hey all I'm new to coins but to make a long story short I purchased 15 rolls of wheat pennies at a flea market last weekend in search of the impossible 1943 copper penny...low and behold I think I found one.. not in very good shape but any help or info would be great!

Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    mr1931Smr1931S Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭✭✭

next thing to do is the magnet test,

Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.-Albert Einstein

• Options

It does not stick to a magnet..fyi

• Options
    bolivarshagnastybolivarshagnasty Posts: 7,350 ✭✭✭✭✭

I would compare the coin to a steel 1943-S Lincoln, paying particular attention to the number 3 in the date. I would guess you will find it doesn't come close, which would mean it is an altered 194x coin. If you are still convinced it is genuine, send it to one of the grading services for authentication.

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Coronacrew23Wow... that is terribly damaged... looks as if it has spent a while in a parking lot.... You will have to send it for authentication if you really want to know.... best of luck and welcome aboard. Cheers, RickO

• Options
    FredWeinbergFredWeinberg Posts: 5,771 ✭✭✭✭✭

That's not one of 'em.

Retired Collector & Dealer in Major Mint Error Coins & Currency since the 1960's.Co-Author of Whitman's "100 Greatest U.S. Mint Error Coins", and the Error Coin Encyclopedia, Vols., III & IV. Retired Authenticator for Major Mint Errors
    for PCGS. A 49+-Year PNG Member...A full numismatist since 1972, retired in 2022
  • Options
    johnny9434johnny9434 Posts: 27,844 ✭✭✭✭✭

its to bad thats all beat up. i hope it works out for you

• Options
    goldengolden Posts: 9,281 ✭✭✭✭✭

If Fred says its not its not!

• Options
    WoodenJeffersonWoodenJefferson Posts: 6,491 ✭✭✭✭