Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

I'm an ON and I work in a shop, ask me anything and I'll answer!! Please make 'em tough.

Comments

• Options
    RoscoRosco Posts: 253 ✭✭✭✭

Other than being "Flashed" at your shop !!...what item(s) do you hope to see or acquire someday ?

R.I.P Son 1986>2020

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

Amazing Al.....Two things... One, you are retiring young - not a bad thing though. Two....I had a gal named Terri flash me at work about 37 years ago.... That was in Phoenix.... Welcome to the ON club (or OF).... Cheers, RickO

• Options
    keetskeets Posts: 25,351 ✭✭✭✭✭

kaz --- all Exonumia is hard to price buy/sell but we don't get a lot. for coins, my boss has been in business since the late 70's so I often defer to his experience when buying. we rely heavily on the GreySheet and refer almost exclusively to the "bid" side, but we use the internet whenever needed, mainly for better/higher graded coins, foreign coins and esoteric things that the GreySheet doesn't list.

between the two of us we can ID and estimate a price on most everything that comes in, but exceptions show up. about two years ago we bought a 1527 Gold Crown of the Rose. heck, I never even knew they existed!!!

logger --- I don't carry, but I have easy access to a shotgun and there are a few pistols close by. also, we have a new guy who is an officer with a local PD, he has a CC.
    buy backs --- we'll buy back at 10-20% of what the sale was. taking a coin out of our holder makes it tough, especially if it isn't a regular customer.
    competitors --- I won't get into any specifics about other dealers and how they operate except to say that the dealer community talks to each other.
    online reviews --- aren't very helpful. when people think they are wronged or treated poorly there is really no way to validate that with a "review" like yelp. people will share a bad experience but rarely share the good ones.