Home U.S. Coin Forum

Comments

• skier07skier07 Posts: 3,649 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'm certainly no copper expert but assuming it's real it's artificially colored and the coin is spotted.

• TequilaDaveTequilaDave Posts: 271 ✭✭✭

Something about that coin sets the red flags off in my head. Spidey senses say "stay away"...

• MacCrimmonMacCrimmon Posts: 7,051 ✭✭✭

Either from a garage in Ping Pang Pu, or treated with something like diluted muriatic acid

• AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,515 ✭✭✭✭✭

A raw fully red cent from 1806? Really, I doubt the authenticity. If it is real (I'm not an expert on these) then it has been really messed with and that copper dip commercial comes to mind.

bob

Registry: CC lowballs (boblindstrom), bobinvegas1989@yahoo.com
  • TommyTypeTommyType Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 28, 2017 6:12PM

The "Too Good To Be True" alarm went off.

Uncirculated, full red 1/2 cent, uncertified, and a 99 cent starting bid? The seller is either stupid, or has balls of steel.

Added: (I didn't say it...but with all that, I assume it's a counterfeit).

Easily distracted Type Collector
  • basetsbbasetsb Posts: 508 ✭✭✭✭

Personally, I would not buy this coin raw, too easy for it to come back graded as details.

@basetsb_coins on Instagram

• PCcoinsPCcoins Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭

Fake

"It is what it is."
  • dm679864dm679864 Posts: 213 ✭✭

Well someones about to lose $430...

Good deals with KollectorKing, ChrisRx, Tookybandit, LukeMarshall, and Ajaan! On cointalk, Histman, Sakata, Blisskr, and a few others!

• UnclePennyBagsUnclePennyBags Posts: 327 ✭✭✭

I don't like it.... ear lobes, nose, lips ...all don't look enough detail to them

Successful trades.... MichaelDixon,

• WalkerfanWalkerfan Posts: 8,896 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'd be very suspicious....details don't look right to me and it is way too red for a 211 year old coin.

Run Forrest RUN!!

“I may not believe in myself but I believe in what I’m doing” ~Jimmy Page~

My Full Walker Registry Set (1916-1947)