Home Precious Metals
Options

Do you pour?

I have been stacking for a few months and I would like to get into pouring my own bars.. I think it would be fun and if I can make a few dollars selling them then it can help finance my personal purchases.

Have you poured silver? if so, any tips? and show your handy work.

Comments

• Options
    AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,540 ✭✭✭✭✭

I have thought hard on doing this. Have never done it as the dies are not easy to create. Pouring is the easy part but who would pay extra for a loaf by me? It would have to be an interesting subject matter and done in enough quantity that there is $$$ enough to make it worth your while.
    If you have a "unique" idea and can pull it off it may work.....maybe.
    There was a forum member who did tiny poured bread loaves but did not do them for long as the market for them was so slim...have not seen anyone else doing it.
    Good luck,
    bob

Registry: CC lowballs (boblindstrom), bobinvegas1989@yahoo.com
  • Options
    OPAOPA Posts: 17,104 ✭✭✭✭✭

There was a forum member who did tiny poured bread loaves but did not do them for long as the market for them was so slim...have not seen anyone else doing it.
    Good luck,
    bob

That forum member is "no longer with us," but he did manage to convince a few forumites to purchase his home made stuff. Perhaps some of them will make a comment.

"Bongo drive 1984 Lincoln that looks like old coin dug from ground."
  • Options
    bronco2078bronco2078 Posts: 9,964 ✭✭✭✭✭

Pour some copper , melt some pennies if you don't have any scrap . You can find info on youtube about making your own crucibles with common items like propane torches , hairdryers and whatnot.

I'm not saying you are going to make money but it would be smart to practice with copper before trying silver

• Options
    WingsruleWingsrule Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭✭