Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Real or fake

This coin was found with quite a few others in my grandfather's or great uncle's belongings. Can anyone tell if it looks authentic? Just a guess? Or can anyone recommend someone reputable in the Atlanta area?

Thanks in advance!
Jennifer

Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    PTVETTERPTVETTER Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭✭✭

CRO may be able to help email the photo to them

Pat Vetter,Mercury Dime registry set,1938 Proof set registry,Pat & BJ Coins:724-325-7211

• Options
    AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,549 ✭✭✭✭✭

Please never clean or mess with any coin. Ruins the value.
    Welcome to the forum and I'm sure you get a good response or two very shortly.
    Does not look authentic to my eyes.

bob

Registry: CC lowballs (boblindstrom), bobinvegas1989@yahoo.com
  • Options

Ptvetter, who is CRO? Sorry, I'm very new to this?

• Options

Bob,
    I have not and will not clean this until I know something for sure! Are authentic versions of this coin pretty common? Thanks for the help!

• Options
    CaptHenwayCaptHenway Posts: 31,574 ✭✭✭✭✭

Modern cast copy. No value.

Numismatist. 50 year member ANA. Winner of four ANA Heath Literary Awards; three Wayte and Olga Raymond Literary Awards; Numismatist of the Year Award 2009, and Lifetime Achievement Award 2020. Winner numerous NLG Literary Awards.
  • Options

@CaptHenway said:

How can you tell? Not that I'm disagreeing, just curious.

• Options
    DollarAfterDollarDollarAfterDollar Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭✭✭

Never had one, never held one. I'm sure there are more fakes out there than authentic ones.

If you do what you always did, you get what you always got.
  • Options
    DollarAfterDollarDollarAfterDollar Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭✭✭

A coin over 300 years old would show "age". this does not. Additionally there's no detail on this coin. The pine tree is suppose to have small branches facing up. I see none on this. But the color is way off.

Welcome to the forum. Sorry to bum you out.