Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Quickest, easiest way to ruin a beautiful old piece of copper..........

coinsarefuncoinsarefun Posts: 21,664 ✭✭✭✭✭

.........be silly enough to take a large order that just shipped to me today, unwrap and lay it on the desk.

Come back a few hours later and trim with an exacto-knife some other items on my desk and FORGET what was underneathimageimage

Learn from my stupidity and don't keep anything sharp near coins image

Thank goodness it was one of the cheaper ones, but still pisses me off as I have never done this before.

Comments

• Options
    lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,198 ✭✭✭✭✭
    OW! image

Get you some sulfur-Vaseline paste and retone that scratch.

Bummer. image

I once accidentally threw away a nice love token Seated dime in a public wastebasket, and only discovered my error after the trash had been picked up and taken away.

Monetarily, it was a <$20 loss, but it still irks me.

I often wonder what the 23rd century archaeologists will think when they find a 19th century love token in a late-20th century landfill, and picture their baffled expressions.

Explore collections of lordmarcovan on CollecOnline, management, safe-keeping, sharing and valuation solution for art piece and collectibles.
  • Options
    savoyspecialsavoyspecial Posts: 7,268 ✭✭✭✭

>>I often wonder what the 23rd century archaeologists will think when they find a 19th century love token in a late-20th century landfill, and picture their baffled expressions.>>

www.brunkauctions.com

• Options
    keyman64keyman64 Posts: 15,455 ✭✭✭✭✭
    imageimage

So sorry to hear this!
    "If it's not fun, it's not worth it." - KeyMan64
    Looking for Top Pop Mercury Dime Varieties & High Grade Mercury Dime Toners. :smile:
  • Options
    TwoSides2aCoinTwoSides2aCoin Posts: 43,837 ✭✭✭✭✭