Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

2009 UHR Grading Sob Story *** Photos up Now *** The Conclusion ***

BryceMBryceM Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭✭
Hi everyone. I've been dabbling in coins for a couple of decades but only recently got interested in collecting some quality items. I had an experience that was disapointing enough that I joined the forum just to see what you all think.

I got a mint sealed 2009 UHR coin last year for around $1800 if I recall correctly. Maybe I'm a bit slow, but I figured I'd send it in to PCGS to get it graded and put in a proper holder. I absolutely never opened the plastic mint holder and I'm certain the shipping box was genuinely mint sealed. The coin looked perfect to my very novice eye prior to submission. The coin comes back with a PCGS Genuine .92 cleaned holder.

HUH ?????????

If it is actually cleaned, then it must have happened at the mint since it sure as shootin' never got out of the little capsule after it left. Scratched, low grade, or something else I could understand, but cleaned?

Anyone else ever hear of this? Think it's worth anything over melt value? I thought the Mint was being pretty careful to ship only quality coins in this series. Guess not. The experience was distasteful enough that it put me completley off the hobby ........ for about 48 hours. image

In other news, the graders confirmed my newly acquired belief that I know next to nothing about grading. Some slider Peace dollars and "genuine" eBay purchases were enough to clear that up. No big surprise there. Now, I'm spending more time at shows looking at lots of coins and getting to know a few dealers a little better. I'm also sticking to PCGS/NGC coins for anything valuable enough to deserve it.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Comments

• Options
    keyman64keyman64 Posts: 15,456 ✭✭✭✭✭