Home Precious Metals

Supply and demand thoughts based on eBay

Being a baseball card guy I'm fairly new to the bullion market, in the card world we can somewhat guage the market by eBay sales, auctions, amount of bids, final price etc.

I've noticed in the silver buillion/coin auctions on eBay that there is a very high volume of sales and high number of bidders, the beautiful part is that all of this action is happening through auction listings.

In today's card world it would be suicide and leaving money on the table by listing an auction, the BIN's and best offer listings rule the market in the card world.
What a difference the buillion market is today compared to sports cards.

Has the buillion supply and demand always been supported according to eBay history?
When did it get hot, have you always been confident enough to list items in auction vs BIN's?

CU Ancient Members badge member.

Collection: https://flickr.com/photos/185200668@N06/albums

Comments

• jmski52jmski52 Posts: 22,305 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Yes, always - except for the fact that I stopped doing ebay 2 1/3 years ago because of their outrageous policies that put the seller at risk while allowing flakey buyers free reign. Other than that, bullion auctions are pretty much a reflection of the real market.
    Q: Are You Printing Money? Bernanke: Not Literally

I knew it would happen.
  • 57loaded57loaded Posts: 4,967 ✭✭✭
    i also think the pulse is on eBay more than some would admit.

a few years back i would buy lots of junk silver for under melt +shipping, it was still auction. i had a top price in my mind (coinflation -~5%), bid it early and either won it or lost it. if i won, good. if i lost no worries.

can't tell you when it started to get hot, havent bought anything off of eBay in about 3 years.