Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

A general grading question

Hello Everyone

Since I am not an expert in the grading arena I was wondering how you all would grade a Lincoln penny given these parameters.

Obverse grades a F-12 and reverse grades VG-8. The difference could even be greater.

Would the overall coin grade a VG-8?

Ethically, I can not grade any higher than VG-8 but it seems a shame when the other side is a F-12 or better.

A little guidance and education would be appreciated.

Thanks

Cliff

RACC
I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the blanket of the very freedom I provide, then question the manner in which I provide it. I prefer you said thank you, and went on your way, Otherwise, I suggest you pick up a weapon, and stand to post. Either way, I don't give a damn what you think you are entitled to!

Comments

• Options
    Generally, the obverse is more important, grading-wise, than the reverse. However, if you will be selling the coin in question, why not state your honest opinion (of the split grade) as you have, here?
  • Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,622 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I read somewhere that the overall grade weigh should usually be about 60% for the obverse and 40% for the reverse. Does this sound about right to you guys?

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

• Options
    fivecentsfivecents Posts: 11,207 ✭✭✭✭✭
    The designs on the reverses of most US coins are busier with devices than the obverse designs. So the reverse tends to hide more in the way of imperfections. The obverse designs tend to have more open fields are the weakest link in the grading chain. So the obverse does tend to carry more grading weight than the reverse.
  • Options
    kruegerkrueger Posts: 813 ✭✭✭
    Correct me if I am wrong. Are not the obverses on US coins struck with the hammer die imparting a higher relief then the reverse anvil die.