Home U.S. Coin Forum

I need some advice with handling customers with US Silver Coins

Hi,

Now it's time to ask you for help here. I am not good at thinking on my feet, so I need some advice.

Like many of us, we are buying a lot of 40%, 90%, and silver dollars. I have a dilemma here:

1) If the coins are loose, I weigh them before I spot-check them. A bag of 90% weighs about 55 pounds, and I take a little off to cover my butt (not much). Since I have done this, I have never been over or under more than $1.00.

2) I do not want to sound like I am being lazy (if I am tell me) but if coins are in 2X2's, mixed with clad, or in albums, etc. I need to pay a bit less because I have to pay my 11-year-old kid $5.00/hour to get them out (she is skilled with regards to not stapling the 2X2's). Also, it depends on the denomination of the coins that are housed along with the quantity.

OK, here's the deal and what I have been doing:

- Since things are competitive, I have to try and give a decent quote. The customer is asked what form the collection is in (loose, etc.). Depending on what it is, I give what I think is an appropriate AND UP quote. That way it is not non-competitive, and I do not tell the customer that they are going to get less if the collection is "housed." Even though that's the truth, it's not business and they do not want to hear that. I can always pay them a bit more if I know that they are shopping it around depending on how it is housed.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Greg

Comments

• GeomanGeoman Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭
    Why not just count them up (face value) and pay per face value (ie: 20x face value)? Or do you have that much coming in that it would take too long to count? Invest in a coin counter maybe? Most dealers I work with have a coin counter. For the ones in 2x2's, that should be pretty quick to count. I never pay less for ones stapled.
  • BillJonesBillJones Posts: 33,880 ✭✭✭✭✭