Home Precious Metals

Congratulations to gold - New all time highs! $2625+!!!

Comments

• tincuptincup Posts: 5,035 ✭✭✭✭✭

Maybe I'm wrong (I'm no expert!) blitzdude, but the chart you posted looks to me to back up what @derryb said?

The higher the dollar index, meaning a stronger dollar? the lower the gold price. It takes less dollars to buy the same amount of gold.

The higher the gold price, the lower the index? Meaning it takes more dollars to buy the same amount of gold.

Wish I WAS an expert so I could better understand these things...

----- kj
  • blitzdudeblitzdude Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭✭✭

@tincup said:
    Maybe I'm wrong (I'm no expert!) blitzdude, but the chart you posted looks to me to back up what @derryb said?

The higher the dollar index, meaning a stronger dollar? the lower the gold price. It takes less dollars to buy the same amount of gold.

The higher the gold price, the lower the index? Meaning it takes more dollars to buy the same amount of gold.

Wish I WAS an expert so I could better understand these things...

The dollar index today is pretty much where it was in 2000. Gold in 2000 was $280 an ounce, today it's $2500. Personally, I like both gold and dollars. RGDS!

The whole worlds off its rocker, buy Gold™.

• HigashiyamaHigashiyama Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭✭✭

But when @derryb says “Gold is a measurement of the dollar” I believe he is simply saying that over time, as gold goes up, the purchasing power of the dollar goes down. Over a short time frame, there is a lot of variability, but over the long term, I think we all agree with this.

Higashiyama

Everything goes "up" over time (well except gutter metal) this would also include the number of $$$ in my pocket. THKS!

• ProofCollectionProofCollection Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited August 18, 2024 10:54AM

@blitzdude said:

@derryb said:

@GoldFinger1969 said:
    Gold up $55 to $2,547 today.

$3,000 by 2030....$5,000 by 2035. PTs could be too low but will hold them for now. :)