Home Precious Metals
Options

In relation to those holding PMs for SHTF scenarios...Long term care insurance...Smoking cessation a

... help me conceptualize, graphically, how you define a SHTF scenario?

My definition is not another Great Depression x 20 years, but more like the Black Death with an economic cause (I'm a physician by trade, so forgive the analogy if it doesn't work for you.) In this type of situation, I think the vast majority of us are so DEPENDENT (re: our food, water, vitamins, etc) and UNDERPREPARED, that in such an economic disruption, 100% PM holdings would not do much for the long term and we wouldn't survive very long. Maybe that's just my definition, ie a true SHTF scenario means only a minority survive. And they are likely very remote, self sufficient, bartering (PMs or not), etc.

In the short term in more populated areas, if PM barter would take over, desperate people are going to notice real quickly, who has the PMs. So safety issues also play here. Better be discreet how barters are made and best in communities of like-minded people with different skill sets who can help each other.

Can't you see starving, desperate city folk pouring into the country and forcing the farming, self-sufficient peace-loving people groups to work their farms at gunpoint and provide for them--kind of like slaves? Well, that's what I think of in a SHTF scenario, not eating baked beans and peanut butter for a year or two.

If someone wants to start a thread about what specific means you have implemented (even at a concealed weapons course I just took our oldest son to, the moderator spent 20 minutes on a tangent about his preparedness), that would be great. ?how many years worth of dehydrated foods you have stored, porcelain water filters, etc?

Do your best to avoid circular arguments, as it will help you reason better, because better reasoning is often a result of avoiding circular arguments.

Comments

• Options
    Why ? doc you think it's going that way