Home U.S. Coin Forum

Buffalo nickel MS66 question

I'm new to buffalo nickels and need some grading help. How significant is a "clean horn" on a buffalo nickel to obtaining an MS66 or higher grade? Would a little mark on the horn necessarily preclude anything higher than MS65? I have a really nice MS65 that I think could be considered an MS66 but there's a little mark on the horn...just want to know if this in and of itself would prevent an upgrade. Thanks.

Comments

• Type2Type2 Posts: 13,985 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Let see a pic of it. It makes it EZer to see what we are looking. image

Hoard the keys.
  • ElcontadorElcontador Posts: 7,412 ✭✭✭✭✭
    A 6 needs outstanding eye appeal, while nice, attractive appeal will work for a 5. You'll also see a noticeable tick mark on a 6 (typically on the Buff's mid-section), while you'll see a few more of them on a 5.

All bets are off when you're dealing with weakly struck coins like many of the 20s S mint coins.
    "Vou invadir o Nordeste,
    "Seu cabra da peste,
    "Sou Mangueira......."
  • I'll get some pics up tonight for everyone to weigh in on, but back to my central question regarding the horn, can you get an MS66 grade if you have a little nick on the horn? I'm not as familiar with this series as others and wasn't sure if the horn area had to be perfect for anything over an MS65 grade. Thanks.
  • rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Your question cannot be answered with authority until the coin is viewed. Cheers, RickO
  • coinguy1coinguy1 Posts: 13,485

<< <i>Your question cannot be answered with authority until the coin is viewed. Cheers, RickO >>

And perhaps it can't be answered after the coin is viewed eitherimage That said, my sight-unseen answer to the original question, as posed below, would be no.

<< <i>Would a little mark on the horn necessarily preclude anything higher than MS65? >>

• ShamikaShamika Posts: 18,759 ✭✭✭✭

<< <i> Would a little mark on the horn necessarily preclude anything higher than MS65? >>