Home Metal Detecting
Options

Panning for gold questions

I'm starting to get intrigued about panning for some gold. I know my chances of actually finding any are about .0001% in the area I live in, but I think it would be fun anyways. I live in Southeast Missouri, and have access to a small creek on family land, so that is where I planned to try this out. The creek floods, so material constantly gets moved.

I have ZERO knowledge.

My questions are:

1. Where should I pull my material to pan from, the creek bank or the creek riverbed under the water, or both?

2. Can you make your own pan, or should I purchase one? If you can make one, any instructions on the net in doing this?

I'm sure I might have more questions but that is what I have right now. I can find panning techniques on the net but cannot find the other information that I'm looking for above. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    Go to GoldBay and check out the Q&A section.. Several Gold Miners post & sell their material on that site..

& Good Luck image
  • Options
    In my area, I think it's more of a miracle then luck. image

thanks for the link, I'll check that out.
  • Options
    Hmmm, finally found some info about where gold has been found in the state, and I'm no where near the areas. So barring a miracle, I think my little creek I'll be doing is going to be a bust and probably a waste of time.
  • Options
    Panning is slow, operating a small sluice is a time saving way to do it. Here is a guy I met this summer doing just that in a small stream near the campsite. He didn't find anything after 3 hours of intense looking. I learned a lot watching, mostly I now know I don't want a sluice.

"If I had a nickel for every nickel I ever had, I'd have all my nickels back".
  • Options
    AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,540 ✭✭✭✭✭
    The only chance you'll have to get gold on your creek would be if the creek has bedrock that you can get down to. Gold is extremely