Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

I've decided on my path to follow

Some of you may remember me from my coming out post a few weeks ago but likely most of you don't. Basically to refresh you I'm completely new to the hobby and was introduced to coins by a family member who collects modern gold, over the Christmas holiday.

My first step was to get a copy of the Redbook and I took a long time with it. I can't tell you how many hours I've spent going over that little book. I knew that I wanted to begin collecting coins and that coins, especially the old and out of use ones, fascinated me. I used the Redbook to gauge which coins really blew my whistle.

Once I had a good idea of what I wanted to pursue I took a trip down to my local coin shop to do some window shopping. The patrons there were, well, let’s just say they were breathing. Regardless of them I actually did get to see in person many coins and hold several of them in my clumsy hands. At first I was pretty drawn to the tiny Three Cent coins from the Redbook but when I actually held one I was ASTONISHED at their size! I had read their diameter and understood they were small but it doesn't really sink in until you spend some time squinting over them. I came to the quick realization that although I liked them it was just not practical after taking into consideration my aged eyes. I then turned my efforts into seeing if any coin large enough for an old timer to appreciate would speak to me. After wearing out the pages in my Redbook even more I came to realize that the coin I kept going back to again and again was the Liberty Seated Dollar (page 207 is definitely the most worn of the book). I had looked at this coin, read what the book said and was always drawn to it. Of course next was looking at the pricing table and that's where my heart sank as it appeared they were mismatched with my allowable budget.