Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Any interest in a Civil War Generals Set?

With all the coins the (Franklin) U.S. Mint is creating, how about a Silver dolllar Series of Civil Wars Generals. North and South. The Mint can produce pehaps 5 from each. Make the cases blue and gray.

Or perhaps people only know them from TV shows like Dukes of Hazzard(General Lee).

Ken Burns would be proud.image
I'm not a vigilante, I'm an undocumented border patrol agent!

Comments

• Options
    ziggy29ziggy29 Posts: 18,668 ✭✭✭
    I think that would be cooler than presidents and first ladies. But I suspect it would be too politically incorrect to commemorate the Confederates.
  • Options
    410a410a Posts: 1,325
    What?? No Bobby Lee? No Jeff Davis?? No J P Hill ?
  • Options
    but you could put the two or so most important Generals from different battles together on the same coin kind of like the Antietam or the Gettysburg ideas? Might work? I like the blue and grey box idea.
  • Options
    I guess some people might object to the Great Nathan Bedford Forrest.
  • Options
    but you see balance the coin with a Northern General at their most important battle?
  • Options
    I see your point. A coin for a BATTLE and have the oposing generals facing each other might work.
  • Options
    ziggy29ziggy29 Posts: 18,668 ✭✭✭
    Well, they *kinda* did this with stamps from 1961 to 1965. Each year they commemorated a major battle in one of those years. Maybe you'd have to wait until 2011 to 2015 (150th anniversary), but then you could probably create a Civil War series and perhaps include the generals in them.
  • Options

They had Grant and Lee on Commemorative if I remember?

Also, weren't both Lee and Grant only put in total command the last year of the war?

I think it would be a great idea!

Larry
    Dabigkahuna

• Options
    tjkilliantjkillian Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭

<< <i>I guess some people might object to the Great Nathan Bedford Forrest. >>