Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Newbie to forum

MrHalfDimeMrHalfDime Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭✭
Gentlemen: I am a newbie to this forum, having been directed here through a Google search on my favorite subject - US half dimes. I have actually seen my name invoked on a couple of past threads on that subject. I would like to contribute what I can, and to learn as much as possible from the veterans. I am a long time collector of United States half dimes of all series, and have assembled a large reference collection which is often helpful in answering specific questions on die marriages, die states, and other related subjects.

Quite a while back there was a question about the John Ward Dunsmore painting of "Inspecting the First Coins", and the few prints that were made of that painting. My name was mentioned as the author of an article in the John Reich Journal on that subject. I have information on the original painting, the subsequent prints that were made, and how anyone might obtain a copy of the JR Journal article, which contains a B&W copy of the print.

Also, in a previous thread, there was a question as to how to identify the small, medium and large O mint marks on the 1840-O No Drapery half dimes, for which I might also be able to provide some insight, assuming that question has not been adequately answered.
They that can give up essential Liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither Liberty nor safety. Benjamin Franklin

Comments

• Options
    greghansengreghansen Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭
    First to say hello, welcome!

Greg Hansen, Melbourne, FL Click here for any current EBAY auctions Multiple "Circle of Trust" transactions over 14 years on forum

• Options
    ERER Posts: 7,345
    image and get ready to be bashed.image
  • Options
    SmittysSmittys Posts: 9,876 ✭✭✭✭✭
    image always good to have new people
  • Options
    F117ASRF117ASR Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭
    Welcome!
    Beware of the flying monkeys!
    Aerospace Structures Engineer
  • Options