Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Crossover or Crackout And Submit Raw

image This coin is eligible for for the Collectors Club Quarterly Submission. I have only submitted one coin to be graded so I have very little experience submitting coins. I want this coin to be in a PCGS holder. Would a higher grade be achieved via crossover or if submitted raw? Thanks, Lee

TELETRADE PHOTO

MY PHOTO
imageimage

Comments

• Options
    Looks like a nice coin to me !

Im a sissy,cross over !

Unless you wanna wait about 2 weeks and see how my 1957 Proofs cross ?
  • Options
    CardsFanCardsFan Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭
    Are you allowed to do Crossover submissions for the quarterly freebie?
  • Options
    stev32kstev32k Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭
    It's hard to tell from a photo, but I don't see anything that keeps it from being a 65. I would submit raw. PCGS might well be influenced by the NGC grade, and I would not give them any reason to grade low.

That's a really good looking coin.
    Who is General Failure, and why is he reading my hard drive?
  • Options
    LeeGLeeG Posts: 12,162
    image CardsFan I did a search before I asked my question and according to Russ you can submit a Crossover. Proof I'm in no rush. Let me know your results! Lee
  • Options
    IrishMikeIrishMike Posts: 7,738 ✭✭✭
    Its in a recently graded holder which tells me its probably accurately graded. Whenever you submit a coin this old you run the risk of a bodybag for cleaning as many of these were lightly cleaned as was the practice. I wouldn't crack it out, send it in with the minimum grade you are willing to accept.
  • Options
    FairlanemanFairlaneman Posts: 10,404 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Are you happy with the coin in the NGC plastic ? If so there is no reason period to crack the coin. If it crosses, fine. If it does not, fine. If PCGS thinks its nice enough they will upgrade the coin on a crossover if warranted.

Ken
  • Options