Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

I WON YN BEST OF SHOW IN NEW YORK!

Hi everyone,
I just got back from the ANA show in New York. At the ANA Banquet I was awarded the Young Numismatist Best of Show for my exhibit, The David R. Cervin Ancient Coin Project. I had no idea that I even had a chance to win, this is my first time exhibiting ever.
I had a very nice time at the show, probaly the best things for me were the YN Programs. The YN Breakfast was fun, they have a YN auction were you can buy coins and books with YN $'s (money earned by doing numismatic activities throughout the year) I got about 10 books including World Paper Money, and a 1958 edition of Penny Whimsy. At the breakfast they also gave out YN Literary Awards, I won a second place award for an article I wrote about two months ago.
On the bourse it was hard for me to find brilliant FBL Franklin Halves, I was able to pick up 3 in 64FBL and 2 in 65FBL. It seemed to me like the show started out a little slow but it picked up on Thurday.

Best Wishes,
Steven Caywood

Comments

• Options
    Way to go Steven! I am happy for youimage! Link for ANA press releases including YN awards.

Cameron Kiefer
  • Options
    pontiacinfpontiacinf Posts: 8,915 ✭✭
    Congrats Steven, i really liked your exhibit even though im not a ancient fan. Im so glad you won, i could tell you put alot of hard work into it.

Go BIG or GO HOME. ©Bill
  • Options
    krankykranky Posts: 8,709 ✭✭✭
    Congratulations, Steven, on a great accomplishment! Winning Best of Show for a first-time exhibitor is really something!

New collectors, please educate yourself before spending money on coins; there are people who believe that using numismatic knowledge to rip the naïve is what this hobby is all about.

• Options
    ClankeyeClankeye Posts: 3,928
    Way to go, Steven! That is very, very impressive. Look forward to your further contributions to the hobby.
    Brevity is the soul of wit. --William Shakespeare
  • Options
    Thanks Guys,