Home World & Ancient Coins Forum

Will this Pillar dollar straight grade?

Alltheabove76Alltheabove76 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭
edited October 8, 2024 8:45AM in World & Ancient Coins Forum

I have limited experience with these and TPG. Would this grade?

Comments

• hummingbird_coinshummingbird_coins Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭✭✭

Try the world coin forum.

Young Numismatist • My Toned Coins
    Life is roadblocks. Don't let nothing stop you, 'cause we ain't stopping. - DJ Khaled

• CryptoCrypto Posts: 3,666 ✭✭✭✭✭

I’m not even sure authenticity

• jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 33,758 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'd like a weight. But, if real, it would straight grade.

• Alltheabove76Alltheabove76 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭

@jmlanzaf said:
    I'd like a weight. But, if real, it would straight grade.

26.9 grams

• TheGoonies1985TheGoonies1985 Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭✭✭

There seems to be a ''hole'' in the large crown. Under the cross area.

• BillJonesBillJones Posts: 33,921 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited September 16, 2024 12:26PM

This one is a counterfeit, but I knew that immediately because I saw it in person.

I think that the piece in the OP is genuine and would get a straight grade.

Retired dealer and avid collector of U.S. type coins, 19th century presidential campaign medalets and selected medals. In recent years I have been working on a set of British coins - at least one coin from each king or queen who issued pieces that are collectible. I am also collecting at least one coin for each Roman emperor from Julius Caesar to ... ?
  • logger7logger7 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭✭✭

Compare to this similar date I had:

• Looks like a C/S right of center on the rev, and a corresponding raised bump on the obv. that should preclude a straight grade, but I have seen a few that slipped into holders.

• jayPemjayPem Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭✭✭

@CoinRaritiesOnline said:
    Looks like a C/S right of center on the rev, and a corresponding raised bump on the obv. that should preclude a straight grade, but I have seen a few that slipped into holders.

Good eye!