Home U.S. Coin Forum

Has anyone cracked a coin from it’s holder to put in an album?

2»

Answers

• telephoto1telephoto1 Posts: 4,861 ✭✭✭✭✭

Honestly, I don't understand why someone would waste money on albums/holders and then not put all the coins in them (unless they're just collecting albums). So yes, I would crack it if it was in a slab or buy it raw if I agree with the grade authenticity and price (and obviously have done both for both myself and clients).

RIP Mom- 1932-2012
  • OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,842 ✭✭✭✭✭

Basically purchased to match and keep the consistent look of the rest of the set.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• @OAKSTAR said:

@OldeTowneCoinShoppe said:
    No predicament here... I would estimate conservatively that I've cracked out 300+ coins over the years to put into albums. That includes some valued at several thousand dollars.

Do you take pictures of the coins in the slabs before you break them out or save the bar code labels?

I save the slab inserts. I used to keep the actual slabs but that was taking up a huge amount of space and I eventually spent half a day removing inserts... and cutting my hands up in the process on the VERY sharp shards of plastic!

Once my coin is out of a slab, I could not care less where it came from.

James at EarlyUS.com

On the web: http://www.earlyus.com
  • CopperindianCopperindian Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭✭✭

I’ve never cracked a coin out from a slab - too afraid to damage it. But a few years ago, the top rated IHC Basic Registry set was being broken up & sold. In it was this one:

MS66+RD

I saw it too late - it was already sold. I asked the seller to let me know if the buyer decided not to keep it as I was interested if he wasn’t. Not a chance, I was told - he had already cracked it out & put it in an album!

“The thrill of the hunt never gets old”

PCGS Registry: Screaming Eagles
    Copperindian