Home U.S. Coin Forum

1933 Saint-Gaudens Double Eagles. Where are they?

Comments

• CRHer700CRHer700 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭✭✭

@jmlanzaf said:

@EastonCollection said:
    I always wondered how many 1933 DE are currently stored in any Swiss bank's vaults. I have no knowledge of any being stored but if i was a betting man, I would bet there are a few. Come to think about it, I wonder how many other "goodies" are stored in Switzerland.........

Since they were never released through the cashier, there should be zero in Swiss vaults. This is baseless speculation. All examples found were in numismatic hands. Dealers of the time did have back door access to the Mint's which is likely how they got out. Why would there be any in Swiss bullion holdings?

Perhaps some got shipped abroad since it was legal to own gold in foreign countries until 1961.

God bless all who believe in him. Do unto others what you expect to be done to you. Dubbed a "Committee Secret Agent" by @mr1931S on 7/23/24. Founding member of CU Anti-Troll League since 9/24/24.

• GoldFinger1969GoldFinger1969 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 9, 2024 8:35AM

@tcollects said:
    I would too. I forced myself to read some of the Langbord pleadings and I found myself thinking that the Langbords' narrative could have been framed more simply and persuasively, with more relatable experts. Imho, anything could happen in a redo somewhere else.

The judge steered toward a certain decision, something we've seen of late. David Tripp was given tons of leeway, Roger Burdette not as much. Certain issues were not allowed to be brought up -- possibly the fact that NO GOLD was missing/stolen (though that may have been the Langbord's legal counsel's strategy to not focus on that).