Home U.S. Coin Forum

My First Show Report: CSNS

KliaoKliao Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited May 5, 2024 2:27PM in U.S. Coin Forum

This is my first attempt at writing a report, so please bear with me :).

For those who don't know, I'm originally from the Chicagoland area but currently studying at the University of Illinois, about three hours south. I didn't expect to be able to attend this show, but my end-of-semester schedule allowed me to attend. I booked my bus and show tickets just a couple of weeks ago.

I arrived at the show early on Thursday to collect my pass. There was already a long line of people waiting to purchase a pass. Luckily, those who bought them online could bypass the line and pick up their passes at the coat check. The crowd was allowed in right at 10 am. My first stop was to surprise the LCS I worked part-time. I had initially told him I probably wouldn't be able to attend the show when he asked me to help him set up.

After that, I began making my rounds at the show. I chatted with Ben the Coin Geek, Jon Sullivan, and the folks at Americana among others. I'm naturally more of an introvert, but I wanted to connect with more dealers. As a result, I found myself exhausted at the end of each day. I had intended to say hi to the forum members who had set up at the show, but it slipped my mind with all the excitement.

On Friday, I helped a friend who was looking for a flashy Morgan to add to his collection. Knowing that I had more knowledge about coins overall, he wanted my opinion on which coin would be the best fit for his set. We wandered around the entire show, comparing options. It came down to one at Northern Nevada and another at Rinkor. After going back and forth, we finally settled on a beautiful 1882-CC in 64DMPL with very deep mirrors and frosty devices. A special thanks to Mike Rinkor, who took the time to educate both of us more on DMPL Morgans. Rinkor also had a very impressive selection of 1921 PL Morgans.