Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1966 Kennedy Half Dollar First Day First Issue.....seeking info.

OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 5,862 ✭✭✭✭✭

Does anyone have any information or knowledge on this issue? It looks like some type of after market product. It doesn't look like the envelope has ever been tampered with. The coin is embedded in cardboard, which makes the envelope thicker. I'm just wondering if there's any documentation in the envelope or who may have issued this.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

Comments

• Options
    JBKJBK Posts: 14,793 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 15, 2023 8:07PM

I've seen those covers. Whatever company made them issued them for lots of different coins, including foreign.

• Options
    291fifth291fifth Posts: 23,948 ✭✭✭✭✭

At one time those covers and many like them were coin shop "bargain box" regulars. Perhaps they still are. Unfortunately, I can't recall the name of the company that made them.

All glory is fleeting.
  • Options

@TomB said:
    This type of thing was really common in the 1960s when stamp collecting was far, far more popular in the US than it is today. I've never owned one of these, but these were issued to commemorate the first day of issue of the stamp and not the first day of issue of the dated coin. The coin was included so it would stand out from the crowded field of other first day of issue stamp products and to get folks to buy the product.

Damn! Really? Now that is interesting!! First day of issue of the stamp? I had know idea.. Thanks very much for that! 👍🏻 So this thing is probably worth more to stamp collectors then coin collectors. I should have posted it in the stamp forum. 🤣 😂

Thanks again Tom

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    MWallaceMWallace Posts: 3,866 ✭✭✭✭✭

@TomB said: