Options

New Coin Tech!

2»

Comments

• Options

@Dave99B said:

@raritiesvalue said:

@Dave99B said:
    Neat little system you're building. I was a commercial software developer for 35 years. Over that time, I built several inventory systems for coin collecting, but I always ended up just going back to Excel. It's just hard to beat in terms of flexibility.

Dave

Dave that's super interesting! Can I ask if there were any specific struggles you routinely seemed to face? did you try to commercialize it? Or just private use for yourself? Thanks for the time!

It was really intended for my own use only. That said, if I felt that the end product was good enough, I might try and commercialize it. In the end, I felt like I was almost re-inventing Excel! Anyway, good luck with your project. Looks cool.

Dave

Thank you Dave,

Please reach out with any suggestions or if you would like to potentially collaborate at some point in the future. Would love to hear more about building something like this from a programmers perspective

• Options

@Chattermonkey said:
    OP, I was playing around with your website. Great work! I think some of the categories are redundant, e.g. when adding a coin the first two fields are category and title, then towards the bottom of page there are three drop down menus categorized as, denomination, type, and date-- I feel that these are the most important and should be located up top and the first fields to be completed by the user. In addition, maybe consider a 'sold' field that also calculates total +/- costs and a field to hyperlink directly to certificate either ngc or pcgs and maybe a drop down menu for CAC; yes, no, need to send. Thats all I could think of for now

@erscolo said:
    I do not use Excel, instead I use a coin collection software program. I deal with spreadsheets all day long and have no interest in them outside working hours. I have nearly 3,000 items, and all works pretty well.