Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

New Coin Tech!

raritiesvalueraritiesvalue Posts: 47
edited October 4, 2023 12:27PM in U.S. Coin Forum

UPDATE 10/4/2023: Thank you everyone for the support! We have added the following features.

Hi, I'm a University student from Wisconsin with a life-long interest in coin collecting! In growing my small business / collection, I have always tried to do the best I could to keep track of everything:

What coins I have.

How much I paid.

Where I purchased from.

When I purchased.

I remember starting years ago on paper, writing down the cost of items in a small notepad. This was fine for a couple years while I was still a very young collector, but as I grew there was no way to keep up. And as you can imagine, reading the handwriting of a 12 year old could prove difficult!

Fast forward a few years, and I began using spreadsheets. Of course the scalability of these sheets changed the game for me! I was no longer limited by the size of my notebook or my terrible handwriting, and I could begin recording thousands of coins!

As I take more business classes and begin to think more entrepreneurially, I am realizing how "dull" spreadsheets are. Not only are they boring to look at, but they have limited functionality and are certainly not built for coin collectors in mind.

That's why I am creating a website to help you track your collection or rare coin inventory!

Here is what we have built so far.

The inventory view allows you to add coins into your inventory as you get them. You can store certain data such as where you got the coin, and how much you paid for it. Once coins are added, you can then view them in a list view as shown.