Home U.S. Coin Forum

ASE's from China

BikingnutBikingnut Posts: 3,365 ✭✭✭

I see on ebay, ASE's from China at a discounted price. Example, lot of five for $135.99. That amounts to about $27.20 each. I made a purchase of one lot of five about six weeks ago and received five for I think it was around $29 each. It wasn't until after they shipped that I realized they were coming from China. I probably wouldn't have purchased them had I seen they were coming from China.

So a few questions about these. Are they real ASE's? How can they sell them at such a discounted price? They certainly look real,

US Navy CWO3 retired. 12/81-09/04

Looking for PCGS AU58 Washington's, 32-63.

Comments

• OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭✭✭

I honestly don't know, because as soon as I see China.........I delete it!!

How's your AU58 Washington quarter set doing?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• BikingnutBikingnut Posts: 3,365 ✭✭✭

The set is going slow. There are some dates I may have to take an uncirculated example and carry around in my pocket for a while and submit them myself, mostly the later dates.

Then there are some I come across that the price is way over what it should be.

US Navy CWO3 retired. 12/81-09/04

Looking for PCGS AU58 Washington's, 32-63.
  • rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

First.. and only one necessary... red flag is 'coming from China'.... Not real and likely not silver.... Cheers, RickO

• Project NumismaticsProject Numismatics Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 3, 2023 6:18AM

The Chinese are known for counterfeiting ASEs. This bag of bad ASEs was on display last year at the SCNA show.

To answer your question on price, sometimes they are not even silver.

• bsshog40bsshog40 Posts: 3,767 ✭✭✭✭✭

Isn't there suppose to be a "W" above the eagles tail feather?

• GreenstangGreenstang Posts: 759 ✭✭✭✭