Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Look what I found-2 toned mercs-1943 and 1945-S-UPDATE

TPRCTPRC Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited December 3, 2022 1:31PM in U.S. Coin Forum

Found at my favorite coin shop and purchased for a bit of a premium. Both were sold as 66 No FB. Personally I grade the 43 as a 65, but who really cares. I'll get them graded at some point with TrueViews, and I'll post in about a year at current turnaround times.
Comments welcome. Sorry for the bad pics, taken quickly with my IPhone and then cropped.

1943 10c with obverse toning.

1945-S 10c-not as nicely toned but a bit higher grade.

Tom

Comments

• Options
    DelawareDoonsDelawareDoons Posts: 3,241 ✭✭✭✭✭

Both look artificially toned.

Professional Numismatist. "It's like God, Family, Country, except Sticker, Plastic, Coin."

• Options
    TPRCTPRC Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited August 24, 2022 11:42AM

Interesting! I hope not and I thought they were NT. But I am no expert and we'll see. I know my shop wouldn't mess with them, but perhaps someone else did. And that is, in part, why I posted pics.

But what makes you think so, if I can ask? For example, the reverse of the 1943 is fully original with original skin. That leads me to believe that the obverse also is original and at least the 2nd pic appears to make it look original. And all that I did was point and shoot against different color backgrounds. I had light but it looked too washed out so I turned the light out. And I don't think the flash went off but perhaps it did. The 1945-s isn't dramatically toned, so is of less interest but it also appears original, at least to my eye.

Tom

• Options
    FlyingAlFlyingAl Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭✭✭

@DelawareDoons said:

I must disagree on the first one, it appears to follow the Sunnywood toning progression. The second coin I am still on the fence about but I'm leaning more towards AT.

Young Numismatist, Coin Photographer.

• Options
    MFeldMFeld Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭✭