Home Sports Talk
Options

Watson suspended for 6 games

spacehaydukespacehayduke Posts: 5,470 ✭✭✭✭✭

I was thinking 8-10. Slap in the face to women everywhere that he is even allowed to play again, but at least make a bold statement about it. 6 games is not that bold statement. Glad H-town got rid of him, Cleveland will have to deal with his rep now.

Successful transactions with-Boosibri,lkeigwin,TomB,Broadstruck,coinsarefun,Type2,jom,ProfLiz, UltraHighRelief,Barndog,EXOJUNKIE,ldhair,fivecents,paesan,Crusty...

Comments

• Options
    perkdogperkdog Posts: 29,491 ✭✭✭✭✭

Cleveland won’t care as long as he wins games

• Options
    thisistheshowthisistheshow Posts: 9,386 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited August 1, 2022 9:04AM

I admit that I am not an expert on these matters, but the conversation around banning players and for how long is a bit convoluted and misleading. AFAIK, the new CBA put into place changes meant to mitigate the power of Goodell and the league to suspend players/ban them, etc. Goodell's "heavy handedness" and his lack of ability at setting appropriate punishments led to a new type of system. And within that new system, six games is where we are at for this. Yes, everything was done to make sure Watson did not suffer in any way financially. The structuring of his contract was done in a way that the six game suspension will cost him very little. There is lot going on here.

Edited to add: I'm pretty sure that the league will be on the record here as recommending a one year suspension. The sports media world will be rife with stories today comparing Watson to other players and breaking down the suspensions that they got for seemingly more trivial offenses. I expect many good arguments to be made for why this suspension should have been an "indefinite" one-which would actually mean for one season and then applying for reinstatement. In my opinion, this would have been the way to go.

• Options
    doubledragondoubledragon Posts: 22,956 ✭✭✭✭✭