Home U.S. Coin Forum

Draped Bust Large Cent in Olive Oil for a period of months.

jesbrokenjesbroken Posts: 9,254 ✭✭✭✭✭

I've been using olive oil for many years with IHC's, Lincoln's and 2 Cent Pieces but earlier this year I started placing some corroded and verdigris Large Cents in Olive Oil. Here is a result for my first removal and a rose thorn. Hope you enjoy the results. Before and then After results. I did not think it would be this much change. Take a guess as to how many months the coin soaked.
Jim

When a man who is honestly mistaken hears the truth, he will either quit being mistaken or cease to be honest....Abraham Lincoln

Patriotism is supporting your country all the time, and your government when it deserves it.....Mark Twain

Comments

• ParadisefoundParadisefound Posts: 8,588 ✭✭✭✭✭

WOW! 6months?

• jesbrokenjesbroken Posts: 9,254 ✭✭✭✭✭

Oh, I'm sure the lighting was different as they were photographed months apart. But I will say this, they were both photogrpahed with the same light fixture, but unknown as to the direction or angle. For all new experiments, I will see that the exact lighting and position is used. In no way are the photos juiced. Coin was removed soaked in warm water and patted dry with no other treatment.
    Jim

When a man who is honestly mistaken hears the truth, he will either quit being mistaken or cease to be honest....Abraham Lincoln

Patriotism is supporting your country all the time, and your government when it deserves it.....Mark Twain
  • TomBTomB Posts: 20,724 ✭✭✭✭✭