Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Need Help Deciding What to Send for Grading

jbklyn88jbklyn88 Posts: 23
edited June 22, 2022 3:05PM in U.S. Coin Forum

Hey everyone, I'm new to the whole coin collecting process. My dad passed away when I was 10 months old and for a while he was a huge collector. I just came across a bunch of his collected coins including uncirculated coin sets from 1988 and 1989 in their original packaging (brochures and all). Is it worth getting these graded by PCGS? If so, can I submit them in the original plastic packaging? I know opening them can potentially mess up their values, especially if they get damaged or even touched in the wrong spot in the process.

I did submit a few coins already to get graded (waiting on those to come back), had them labeled and sent in mylar flips. I wasn't entirely sure if I should be doing the same thing with these.

Appreciate any feedback!

Comments

• Options
    jonathanbjonathanb Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭✭✭

"is it worth getting these graded" is a personal question. The only question that matters is whether it is worth it TO YOU.

Consider:

• What is the value of the coins without being graded?
    • What is the cost to get them graded, including the cost of your time to prepare the submission?
    • What is the potential value of the coins if they get graded with grades that you expect?

For many people, if (the potential value of the graded coins) is less than (the value of the raw coins) + (the cost of getting them graded), then it's not worth getting them graded.

• Options
    JBKJBK Posts: 14,788 ✭✭✭✭✭

Chances are that the mint set coins are no where near nice enough to justify grading. Best to enjoy them as they are.

I am afraid to ask what other coins you already submitted. Hopefully you got some good advice from an experienced person.

• Options

@JBK said:
    Chances are that the mint set coins are no where near nice enough to justify grading. Best to enjoy them as they are.