Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

A very cool bust half error coin that just went for moon money

liefgoldliefgold Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭✭✭

I am by no means an expert on double struck errors, but this coin went for $6100 on the bay. The seller is an acquaintance of mine, and he really had no clue as to value. I knew it was very nice and unique but was shocked at the final number. What do the knowledgeable error guys say?

liefgold

Comments

• Options
    kazkaz Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭✭✭

Well, I'm sure no error expert, but that is a very striking (pun intended) error! Plus it looks totally original. There is a lot of money sloshing around out there looking to be spent, and you just need 2 people fixated on such a scarce item. And there are plenty of bust half collectors.

• Options
    habaracahabaraca Posts: 1,964 ✭✭✭✭✭

Yep, checking bid history 2 folks going at it full guns then a 3rd jumps in to raise it a grand.....

maybe I need to start listing my errors

• Options
    Pnies20Pnies20 Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭✭✭

Pretty cool and dramatic. The date looks like a water reflection. Don't see that too often.

BHNC #248 … 108 and counting.

• Options
    pursuitoflibertypursuitofliberty Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭✭✭

Very, very interesting double strike. So many cool things going on.

I agree with @Nysoto , in that coin probably should have been offered up for a major auction company, or to Sheridan for one of his MB auctions. That could have been a bargain for the winner, or it could have been a fair price, but without all the yes, it's hard to tell.

“We are only their care-takers,” he posed, “if we take good care of them, then centuries from now they may still be here … ”

Todd - BHNC #242
  • Options
    BaronVonBaughBaronVonBaugh Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭✭
    edited February 27, 2022 3:20AM

Cool coin. That and a few interested people is all it takes to drive the price up.

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭