Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Need thoughts for a grade for this morgan. Is it even worth it?

Ok. I have this 1878 8 tail feathers Morgan dollar I am considering grading and, since I am no expert in Morgans especially, idk what grade it would get or if it's even worth sending it in for a grade. What do you guys think?

Comments

• Options
    291fifth291fifth Posts: 23,945 ✭✭✭✭✭

From the photos it looks cleaned. Not worth grading.

All glory is fleeting.
  • Options
    cameonut2011cameonut2011 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭✭

AU details cleaned

• Options
    cameonut2011cameonut2011 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭✭

Even if it was problem free, it wouldn’t be worth slabbing.

• Options
    jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 32,017 ✭✭✭✭✭

Ditto. Not UNC, not worth the $40 to slab it.

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 22, 2021 5:35AM

@DynamiteDD.... Welcome aboard. Looks AU, cleaned... A fair amount of marks/dings on the obverse face and fields of the reverse. Not worth the grading fees.... self slab for preservation. Cheers, RickO

• Options
    anablepanablep Posts: 5,032 ✭✭✭✭✭

You could send it in, see what/if it grades and use the results as part of your education on how Morgan dollars are graded, or you can purchase a nice AU example already slabbed by PCGS and compare it to other coins you're interested in having graded in the future. Either way, it's a learning process. Welcome aboard!

Always looking for attractive rim toned Morgan and Peace dollars in PCGS or (older) ANA/ANACS holders!

"Bongo hurtles along the rain soaked highway of life on underinflated bald retread tires."

~Wayne
  • Options

@anablep said:
    You could send it in, see what/if it grades and use the results as part of your education on how Morgan dollars are graded, or you can purchase a nice AU example already slabbed by PCGS and compare it to other coins you're interested in having graded in the future. Either way, it's a learning process. Welcome aboard!