Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Need help with Mint Error

I’m hoping someone could help me out with a mint error that I have. I deal with Variety Attribution (FS- varieties) quite often, however, I have no idea what I’m doing when it comes to mint errors. This is a coin that I found in a 1958 BU Nickel Roll a few years back and I had set it aside for a while. This received a “Reverse Struck Thru Struck Fragment” and I understand that there are a lot of different types of “Struck Thru” mint errors. What confuses me about this one is that it looks like “Cents” was stamped 4 times, “Monticello” was stamped clearly 2 times below the original and there are at least 2 strong separated steps below the original steps. I have been grading coins for over 11 years now and have never come across one like this. When I first saw it I thought it was a wild Doubled Die Reverse. I guess my question is… What exactly is a “Struck Thru Fragment” and how does it make such wild doubling? Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you! -Sean !

Comments

• Options
    HydrantHydrant Posts: 7,773 ✭✭✭✭✭

I can't offer an explanation but I like it!

• Options
    SmudgeSmudge Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭✭✭

A few more photos may help.

• Options

@FredWeinberg said:
    It's struck thru a detached laminated piece
    of metal from a prior coin, imo

Thank you Fred!

• Options
    tincuptincup Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭✭✭

Nice coin!

----- kj
  • Options

@tincup said:
    Nice coin!

Thank you!

• Options
    joeykoinsjoeykoins Posts: 14,893 ✭✭✭✭✭

Wow, what an AWESOME coin, dude! Love it. Fred just gave you an expert opinion coming from THEE expert. ;)

"Jesus died for you and for me, Thank you,Jesus"!!!

--- If it should happen I die and leave this world and you want to remember me. Please only remember my opening Sig Line.
  • Options
    LanceNewmanOCCLanceNewmanOCC Posts: 19,999 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited February 8, 2021 9:24PM

@FredWeinberg said:
    It's struck thru a detached laminated piece