Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1964 Kennedy 50c

Hi Everyone,

I'm a UK coin collector that has just started getting in to US coins. I've been doing it for a few months now, and I'm finding it very interesting. At the moment I am trying to find out more information about a 1964 Kennedy Half Dollar that I got from a 1964 proof set. All I know so far is it's not a special strike ( I wish!), it weighs 12.50 grams and it's a proof coin. After that it gets a bit confusing and it's a bit difficult to keep tabs on what applies to what. As I said I know that it's a proof coin, and I think that I'm right in thinking that it's just a straight forward common or garden 1964 proof half dollar from that era. If anybody could elaborate on that it would be much appreciated.

Many thanks!

Comments

• Options
    MsMorrisineMsMorrisine Posts: 32,230 ✭✭✭✭✭

if you want to go wild with Kennedy Half Dollars, try a loupe and this link: http://www.varietyvista.com/12 Kennedy Halves/index.htm

Current maintainer of Stone's Master List of Favorite Websites // My BST transactions
  • Options
    koynekwestkoynekwest Posts: 10,048 ✭✭✭✭✭

There's a ton of doubled dies for the series and interesting Mint mark varieties, too. And the accented hair proof for 1964. The link MsMorrisine mentions is a great resource for these.

• Options

@MsMorrisine said:
    if you want to go wild with Kennedy Half Dollars, try a loupe and this link: http://www.varietyvista.com/12 Kennedy Halves/index.htm

Thanks for the heads up MsMorrisine, much appreciated.

• Options
    bolivarshagnastybolivarshagnasty Posts: 7,350 ✭✭✭✭✭

Diamond, We can rule out cameo, deep cameo, and accented hair. I think you have a really nice high grade 64 proof. Great photos BTW.

• Options

@koynekwest said:
    There's a ton of doubled dies for the series and interesting Mint mark varieties, too. And the accented hair proof for 1964. The link MsMorrisine mentions is a great resource for these.

Thanks koynekwest, much appreciated.