Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1965 Quarter Verification

Hi Everyone,

I'm a UK coin collector that has just started getting in to US coins. I've been doing it for a few months now, and I'm finding it very interesting. I am a bit stuck at the moment however with identifying a 1965 Washington quarter which I cherry picked from a hard plastic SMS set. I'm pretty sure it's just a case of machine doubling and not a variety, but just wanted to run it by the experts for confirmation of what it is. I've added a few pictures to look at and a google cloud link to view for more detailed pictures if required.

Many thanks in advance.

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1QB_Re7F77sO_JXuUEDWZVT2Y2kmRsSZY?usp=sharing

Comments

• Options
    OldhoopsterOldhoopster Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭✭✭

Your coin was struck from very worn dies.

Member of the ANA since 1982
  • Options

Thanks for the information Oldhoopster.
    Does that mean that it is just worth face value then?

• Options
    koynekwestkoynekwest Posts: 10,048 ✭✭✭✭✭

BTW-welcome!

• Options
    pursuitoflibertypursuitofliberty Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome @Diamond70

Great pictures!

Yes, it appears it came from fatigued (worn) dies. Probably worth more than Face Value (I certainly wouldn't spend it) but hard to say how much more. Maybe one of the Washington Clad people will chime in.

Looks like it would grade pretty well, although the costs may not be worth the effort.

“We are only their care-takers,” he posed, “if we take good care of them, then centuries from now they may still be here … ”

Todd - BHNC #242
  • Options

@koynekwest said:
    BTW-welcome!

• Options

@pursuitofliberty said:
    Welcome @Diamond70

Great pictures!

Yes, it appears it came from fatigued (worn) dies. Probably worth more than Face Value (I certainly wouldn't spend it) but hard to say how much more. Maybe one of the Washington Clad people will chime in.

Looks like it would grade pretty well, although the costs may not be worth the effort.