Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Is this old (dollar?) coin from my thrift store worth anything (it might even be real silver) ????

DFrohmanDFrohman Posts: 86 ✭✭✭
edited January 28, 2020 4:51PM in U.S. Coin Forum

Hello Everyone!

I am new to coin collecting, and as I don't know much about them perhaps someone here can help me.

I found this old-looking coin (I think that it is a dollar?) at my local thrift store, and want to know if it is old enough to be worth anything? Coins have to be old in order to be valuable, right, so I sure hope that this is old enough!

Also, do you think that it could even be made from real silver?

Boy, I hope so, or I am out three dollars!

Thanks!

David Frohman

B)B)B)B)

Comments

• Options
    TradesWithChopsTradesWithChops Posts: 640 ✭✭✭✭

trolllllll

Minor Variety Trade dollar's with chop marks set:
    More Than It's Chopped Up To Be

• Options
    edited January 28, 2020 1:00PM

This is one of the three earliest-known Eisenhower dollars, and also one of the first three-known silver dollars ever struck by the United States since the final Peace dollar was produced in 1935!

• Options

@TradesWithChops said:
    trolllllll

No ... "Prototype"

B)

• Options
    crazyhounddogcrazyhounddog Posts: 13,810 ✭✭✭✭✭

3 bucks eh, really?

The bitterness of "Poor Quality" is remembered long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten.
  • Options

B)B)B)

• Options
    edited January 28, 2020 2:40PM

Whats life without a sense of humor (evil grin)!

:)>:)B)

• Options

And in its new "Rarities" holder!

• Options
    Bigbuck1975Bigbuck1975 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭✭✭

You may have overpaid!! What is the name of that store again?

• Options
    SweetpieSweetpie Posts: 465 ✭✭✭

The size of that slab is much bigger than my hands!

• Options