Home U.S. Coin Forum

NEWP: 1826 Capped Bust Half!

KliaoKliao Posts: 5,445 ✭✭✭✭✭

Picked this up today. Looks UNC. Comments welcome.

If anyone knows the Overton number please let me know. It would be greatly appreciated!

Young Numismatist/collector
75 Positive BST transactions buying and selling with 45 members and counting!
instagram.com/klnumismatics

Tagged:

Comments

• ElcontadorElcontador Posts: 7,412 ✭✭✭✭✭

As a matter of first impression, it may be Unc. details, but looks cleaned.

"Vou invadir o Nordeste,
    "Seu cabra da peste,
    "Sou Mangueira......."
  • DNADaveDNADave Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭✭✭

I’m no expert. I just pulled out Overton 3 and have it at O-118 right now. Don’t quote me on it

• KliaoKliao Posts: 5,445 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 30, 2019 3:05PM

@Elcontador said:
    As a matter of first impression, it may be Unc. details, but looks cleaned.

It’s doesn’t look as bad in hand. Does it look like old cleaning? It still has undisturbed cartwheel luster on both sides.

@DNADave said:
    I’m no expert. I just pulled out Overton 3 and have it at O-118 right now. Don’t quote me on it

Looks like the one but I think it’s O-118a with the die cracks
    http://maibockaddict.com/1826-o-118-r1-capped-bust-half-dollar

This is interesting. On the edge it’s supposed to say half but only the ‘h’ remains. Any explanation for this???

It’s where it looks like there’s weak points

• MarkInDavisMarkInDavis Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭✭

Don’t mean to be negative, but it definitely looks cleaned. Lots of hairlines.

image Respectfully, Mark
  • TomBTomB Posts: 20,697 ✭✭✭✭✭

If you like the coin then that is great. If you like the coin and picked it up at a reasonable price then that is even better. However, from the images it is a dipped, cleaned AU.

Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography

In honor of the memory of Cpl. Michael E. Thompson

@MarkInDavis said:
    Don’t mean to be negative, but it definitely looks cleaned. Lots of hairlines.

@TomB said: