Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Authenticating 1909-S VDB pennies

Wanted some opinions on a coin I just picked up; thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    HemisphericalHemispherical Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 29, 2019 1:40PM
  • Options
    matt_dacmatt_dac Posts: 959 ✭✭✭✭✭
  • Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,438 ✭✭✭✭✭

@CoinPhysicist said:
    I'm no expert, but does that 'S' look a little bit funky?

As a non-expert, a 1909 S VDB is a coin I would never buy raw.

Agree. The S mintmark looks off to me. There is a small die chip within the top loop of the S on the real ones.

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

• Options
    edited April 29, 2019 1:52PM

Does the MM or VDB come off? Amazing what super glue can do.

https://www.pcgs.com/news/counterfeit-vs-authentic-1909-s-vdb-lincoln-cents

Based upon the OP’s pics the VDB and MM are suspect.

The MM is a different color and positioning appears off. Maybe it’s the pics but there looks like indents/depressions and a slightly different coloration on the east/west sides of the MM.

The the B in VDB does not appear to have the slanted middle cross bar.

• Options
    291fifth291fifth Posts: 23,944 ✭✭✭✭✭

Never buy a raw 1909-S VDB raw unless YOU are an expert in authenticating them yourself. Check the rim of your coin to see if there is any evidence of drilling. The weakness of the mintmark makes me wonder if it isn't a punch-up.

I'm no expert on these and would never buy a raw one myself.

All glory is fleeting.
  • Options

I just checked it over a little more, I believe it’s genuine, the “B” has the slight slant, not coming off either LOL. > @Hemispherical said:

• Options
    ifthevamzarockinifthevamzarockin Posts: 8,498 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 29, 2019 1:50PM

Mint mark position looks like it is close to #3. The shape of the S looks off and the dots on the VDB are missing and center bar of the B look off. Based on the photos provided I would say it is very questionable.