Home U.S. Coin Forum

Silver Dollars

I am still considering myself a beginner but thanks to my research and more importantly some members experience here on the forums, I am still learning. That being said, something I just could not find were silver dollars and half dollars. I’ve asked in all the stores and banks to no avail. In remembrance of my ex mother in law who used to give my children silver dollars every year, I found 3 at an Indian store. So in her memory I’m going to share them. Thanks forum friends.

Best Answer

Answers

• BillJonesBillJones Posts: 33,795 ✭✭✭✭✭

The coins you posted are not silver dollars. They were struck on the same clad planchets that are used for the coins that are in your pocket.

The 90% silver dollars are either the modern commemorative coins, or they are the Morgan and Peace Dollars that you have seen posted here. There were Eisenhower Dollars that were struck on 40% silver clad planchets. They were issued, at more than their face value, from 1973 to 1978.

Banks and stores don’t have these dollars and half dollars because they have not been issued for many years. Unfortunately you won’t be able to get true silver dollars at face value.

Retired dealer and avid collector of U.S. type coins, 19th century presidential campaign medalets and selected medals. In recent years I have been working on a set of British coins - at least one coin from each king or queen who issued pieces that are collectible. I am also collecting at least one coin for each Roman emperor from Julius Caesar to ... ?
  • HemisphericalHemispherical Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭✭✭

Finding silver coins of any type in the wild is hard as people will hoard them when found.

The only way to get new $1 and half dollar coins is direct from the US Mint and there is a small premium to buy them. These are clad (no silver).

$1 American Innovation
    https://catalog.usmint.gov/american-innovation-1-coin-2018-rolls-and-bags-MASTER_INNOVATION.html?cgid=2018-product-schedule