Home U.S. Coin Forum

Good Intentions, Unexpected Side Effects, on a Police Wanted Post for using a “Counterfeit $10 bill”

Note – The names of the two police individuals involved in this story were changed to aliases. I was extremely pleased with the interaction with them and my respect for our police was greatly increased.

I spent the past 30 years involved with probably our country’s oldest and greatest hobby, coin collecting. I have written fifty-three books on numismatics, covering many of our vast series produced in the United States. I have spent thousands of hours in the National Archives going through hundreds of thousands of documents of those individuals who created, collected, and used our coinage with the objective of accurately presenting the history relating to coinage from those individuals responsible for it. I have uncovered many of the great mysteries that form the lure and stories of our coinage. My real job is a software engineer, I have a masters in engineering and have been working in this field for the past 32 years. The core of software engineering is solving problems, which is my strongest attribute, and which I use when figuring out unsolved mysteries in coins. Researching and writing books was not for profit, but as the true essence of the hobby is the discovery and sharing of knowledge. I have taught classes and done seminars on coins. One of my big goals was to inspire new collectors to join in our hobby, especially kids, for without our hobby will wither away as stamps has progressed down that death spiral path. Many kids today focus on games and other toys on their phones and computers. Some of the books I have written were specifically for kids, while others were to teach parents, coin show organizers, clubs, and coin dealers how to help inspire kids to collect coins.