Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Unusual, CAC-approved toning on gold

ranshdowranshdow Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭✭

Apropos of a BST thread about an old commemorative coin up for auction. Here are a couple examples of toning on gold coins that has been CAC approved.

Feel free to share other examples.

Comments

• Options
    BustyPotatoBustyPotato Posts: 81 ✭✭✭

I have never seen that dark of toning on gold before but, I am relatively new to the hobby. That California eagle looks so odd I can't describe it but it is really funny to me.

A government accident left me a former man, a potato. That photo on my profile is a low resolution selfie. I like coins.

• Options
    SmudgeSmudge Posts: 9,259 ✭✭✭✭✭

I love old gold with that look. Great coins especially the California piece.

• Options
    Insider2Insider2 Posts: 14,452 ✭✭✭✭✭

@BustyPotato said:
    I have never seen that dark of toning on gold before but, I am relatively new to the hobby. That California eagle looks so odd I can't describe it but it is really funny to me.

Stick around, you will. At least one member here collects them and posts his new purchases.

• Options
    BoosibriBoosibri Posts: 11,876 ✭✭✭✭✭

From my experience smaller sized US gold typically tones in the fields with lighter areas around the devices (like the 1846 $5). On a few coins, like the territorial, the toning is inverse and surrounds the devices but not the fields. In discussing this with Doug Winter he called it "leather pouch" toning where the tannins in the pouch (or wood box, etc) is imparted to the surfaces of the coin in that pattern.

• Options
    SonorandesertratSonorandesertrat Posts: 5,695 ✭✭✭✭✭

@BustyPotato said:
    ...That California eagle looks so odd I can't describe it but it is really funny to me.