Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Using Credit Cards at Coin Shows

My question mostly relates to the upcoming Long Beach show. It's my first time in over a year that I'll be attending.

Anyway, are more dealers accepting credit cards at coin shows? I remember that only a handful of dealers would accept them for the longest time, but the last time I went in 2006 it seems that a few more were taking them. I'm just wondering if that trend has continued to even more dealers.

I just don't want to lug all that cash around, and I don't know any dealers well enough for personal check referals. Trust me, I won't overspend. image

Thanks.
Lurking proudly on internet forums since 2001

Comments

• Options
    vplitevplite Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭
    I have always taken cash. Then I know I will not "overspend".

Needless to say you will get the most for your money with greenbacks.

They are held in high esteem in spite of some posting to the contrary. image
    The Golden Rule: Those with the gold make the rules.
  • Options
    NO NO NO NO NO. Take cash if you want to buy anything. I had to learn this the hard way at the ANA show last March. Didn't bring any cash, and only had a credit card with me, and I couldn't get cash out of an ATM. Bring cash.
    To support LordM's European Trip, click here!
  • Options
    notwilightnotwilight Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭
    I noticed lots of dealers taking credit cards at LB last fall including one dealer of gold that I bought a couple of Saints from. They charge an extra 2% or something. I know some people including one forum member I spoke to yesterday are not real careful carrying large amounts of cash with them. Also, if you're buying anything over $10k there are special rules for cash. Most dealers will take a check but I always worry about that.

If there are any bad guys who found this thread, the bulge in my briefcase isn't cash.

--Jerry
  • Options
    dohdoh Posts: 6,457 ✭✭✭