Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

If you had $10k to spend on one coin... what would it be?

ChrisRxChrisRx Posts: 5,619 ✭✭✭✭
I am just a college student (21 years old) and have a really nice coin collection... BUT...
I don't have that centerpiece coin. Now my question what coin would be the best one to get with a 10k budget.
I'm thinking of rarity, big potential for an increase in value, and popularity in the series (so no 20 cent pieces!)

Thanks!
-=-Chris-=-

Comments

• Options
    tightbudgettightbudget Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭
    A high XF-low AU 1916-D dime.
    Welcome to the boards!
  • Options
    hey thanks tb!
    would love more suggestions!
  • Options
    clw54clw54 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭
    I wouldn't. There are too many shenanigans in the hobby to put that much money into it. Too many operators, compared to the number of people who respect the coins and believe in being caretakers. I didn't feel this way until recently. I think it was the doctored Gobrecht that convinced me to keep it inexpensive. That was the last straw.
  • Options
    1798 Draped Bust Small Eagle
  • Options
    eep, well I would sure have it certified!
  • Options
    CladiatorCladiator Posts: 17,932 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Nice, original, crusty AU 1795 Half Dime.
  • Options
    ziggy29ziggy29 Posts: 18,668 ✭✭✭
    Something relatively high grade and dated 1790-something.
  • Options
    dtkk49adtkk49a Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭
    A 1909 VDB Matte Proof Lincoln
    Follow me - Cards_and_Coins on Instagram

They call me "Pack the Ripper"
  • Options
    So far it seems the majority of you think late 1700's is the trick...
    No 1893-s morgan?
  • Options
    tightbudgettightbudget Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭

<< <i>So far it seems the majority of you think late 1700's is the trick...
    No 1893-s morgan? >>

That's also not a bad idea to pick one up in like XF. IMO, I'd buy anything that's a key date.
  • Options
    Wolf359Wolf359 Posts: 7,656 ✭✭✭
    Deep Cameo Proof Morgan....talk about eye appeal...
  • Options